WA Super News

WA Super announces new look Board.


WA Super today announced its new look Trustee Board.

The appointments of Simon Withers, Therese Ryan, Sharon Hicks and David Moroney add significant depth to an already-experienced team.

Withers is the City of Cambridge Mayor and the WA Local Government Association nominated representative. He was previously Director Corporate Finance with an investment bank in London for 18 years.

Ryan has extensive executive and board experience, including five years chairing a superannuation trustee board. Her other current roles include Director Victorian Managed Insurance Authority, Vic Forests and Audit Committee City of Melbourne.

Hicks was previously Chief Investment Officer of GESB Super Fund and is a Certified Investment Management Analyst. She is currently Co-Chief Investment Officer for NWQ Capital Management and a member of the Investment Sub-Committee, Lions Eye Institute.

Moroney has more than 20 years’ experience in senior finance roles and strong risk and governance skills. He was previously a Trustee Director for the CBH Super Fund and is currently a Director and Chair of the Geraldton Fisherman’s Co-operative Audit & Risk Committee.

The Board now has a balance of independent and representative Trustee directors, with two Member Representatives, two Employer Representatives and four Independent Directors.

The new appointments follow an extensive nationwide search for high-caliber candidates with the necessary knowledge, skills and experience to ensure the Fund is well placed to manage current and future challenges.

The shift to a greater proportion of independent directors was approved by APRA and is a first for the profit-for-member superannuation sector.

The announcement follows the retirement of the current Chair Nick Catania and fellow long-serving Directors Alex Bajada (Chair of Investment Committee & 22 years’ service), David James (Member Representative) and WA Local Government Association Representative Carol Adams.

With over 39 years of experience collectively, all four directors finished their terms with WA Super at the end of the 2013/2014 financial year.

Independent Director Tim Shanahan, who took over the role of Chairman on July 1, said: “The retiring Directors have made a substantial contribution over many years and we thank them for their efforts.”

Referring to the new Board, he said: “WA Super members should take great comfort in the knowledge that their retirement savings are being managed by a highly skilled Board of Trustees”.

WA Super (formerly known as WA Local Government Super) has welcomed many changes over the past 12 months, including a rebrand and fund overhaul which extended the fund’s membership base to include all Western Australian employees and businesses.

Return to top